Video

The computer says no

Q: Excuse me, do you have any ice?

A: “You mean the frozen kind?”

Yes, this was an actual exchange of words I had with a Big Box Store cashier a couple of years back when I was out frantically trying to find ice for my clients on the day of their wedding when the person responsible for bringing the ice came empty handed (in my previous life I was a wedding planner).

This exchange stuck with me as the perfect example of how some people possess critical thinking skills, and others, well, do not. This can also be said for good customer service, creativity, tenacity, resourcefulness, and many other skills and characteristics that are often important in service type roles; some people have them, some people don’t.

It’s possible that the employee just had a momentary brain fart. Or they were so thrown off by my really random question that the neural connections of their brain couldn’t compute faster than the speed at which the words came out of their mouth.

Either way, this is not the type of individual you want to be dealing with when you are: applying for a mortgage, applying for a loan, doing your taxes, setting up a business, or if you have a nut allergy and they are the one confirming there are no nuts in the dish you are about to order.

When the answer matters, you want to pose the question to someone who can think beyond the box. Too many people receive a “no” when in fact, with some additional information or a little creativity, the answer could have been “yes” (*cough* what happens at banks *cough*).

This is why it sometimes seems to my clients that I make magic happen. I turn “no” into “yes” and between you and me, I have a ton of fun while I’m doing it.

So I leave you with this clip. If this has been your experience, call me.

Clip: Little Britain – The Computer Says No

Leave a Reply

